Skip to main content


July 13, 2015

2015 Eisner Award Winners










The 2014 Eisner Awards were awarded this past weekend at San Diego Comic-Con.  Below are the nominees in select categories, with the winners marked in bold. For all the nominees, visit our previous blog post. To see all winners, visit the SDCC website's Eisner Awards page.

Best Short Story: “When the Darkness Presses,” by Emily Carroll (webcomic)
Best Continuing Series: Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples (Image)
Best Limited Series: LITTLE NEMO: Return to Slumberland, by Eric Shanower & Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW)
Best New Series: Lumberjanes, by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Noelle Stevenson, & Brooke A. Allen (BOOM! Box)
Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 7): THE ZOO BOX, by Ariel Cohn & Aron Nels Steinke (First Second)
Best Publication for Kids (ages 8-12): EL DEAFO, by Cece Bell (Amulet/Abrams)
Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17): Lumberjanes, by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Noelle Stevenson, & Brooke A. Allen (BOOM! Box)
Best Humor Publication: THE COMPLETE CUL DE SAC, by Richard Thompson (Andrews McMeel)
Best Anthology: LITTLE NEMO: Dream Another Dream, edited by Josh O’Neill, Andrew Carl, & Chris Stevens (Locust Moon)
Best Reality-Based Work: HIP HOP FAMILY TREE, VOL. 2, by Ed Piskor (Fantagraphics)
Best Graphic Album, New: THIS ONE SUMMER, by Mariko Tamaki & Jillian Tamaki (First Second)
Best Graphic Album, Reprint: THROUGH THE WOODS , by Emily Carroll (McElderry Books)
Best Writer: Gene Luen Yang, Avatar: The Last Airbender (Dark Horse); THE SHADOW HERO (First Second)
Best Writer/Artist: Raina Telgemeier, SISTERS(Graphix/Scholastic)
Best Comics-Related Book: GENIUS, ANIMATED: The Cartoon Art of Alex Toth, Vol. 3, by Dean Mullaney & Bruce Canwell (IDW/LOAC)
Best Scholarly/Academic Work: GRAPHIC DETAILS: Jewish Women’s Confessional Comics in Essays and Interviews, edited by Sarah Lightman (McFarland)
Hall of Fame: Judges’ Choices: Marge (Marjorie Henderson Buell), Bill Woggon; Elected: John Byrne, Chris Claremont, Denis Kitchen, Frank Miller