Skip to main content


Edgar Allan Poe Awards 2012

Each Spring, Mystery Writers of America present the Edgar® Awards, widely acknowledged to be the most prestigious awards in the genre. These awards recognize the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction and television in the past year.

Mystery Writers of America is proud to announce the winners of the 2012 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television published or produced in 2011. The Edgar® Awards were presented to the winners at our 66th Gala Banquet, April 26, 2012 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel, New York City.

Los Angeles Times Book Prize 2011

The 2011 Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were presented on Friday, April 20, 2012, in a public ceremony in the Bovard Auditorium on the campus of USC.

Indies Choice and E.B. White Book Award 2012

A record-breaking number of independent booksellers nationwide cast their ballots in March, and on April 4, 2012 the American Booksellers Association announced the winners of the 2012 Indies Choice Book Awards and the E.B. White Read-Aloud Awards.

RITA Awards 2012

Romance Writers of America® (RWA) is pleased to announce the winners for the 2012 RITA®  Awards. The 2012 RITA honors romance fiction published in 2011. More than 1,200 novels and novellas were judged in 12 categories. T

Winners of the awards were announced July 28, 2012, at the RITA Awards Ceremony held at the 2012 RWA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif.

Books for a Better Life Awards 2011

Since its inception in 1996, Books for a Better Life has recognized more than 600 self-improvement authors and has now raised more than $1.8 million for the New York City - Southern New York Chapter’s comprehensive support services and educational programs for people living with MS, their friends and families. The Awards recognize self-improvement authors whose messages are aligned with the chapter’s mission of inspiring people to live their best lives.

On March 12, 2012, the Southern New York Chapter of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society presented the winners of the 16th Annual Books for a Better Life Awards tonight during a ceremony at The Times Center in Manhattan. Winners were chosen from five nominees in each of the ten self-improvement categories

The National Book Critics Circle Awards 2011

On Thursday, March 8, at the New School’s Tishman Auditorium, The National Book Critic Circle presented its awards for publishing year 2011.

Founded in 1974, the NBCC is a nonprofit organization of book reviewers and critics that honors outstanding writing and fosters a national conversation about reading, criticism, and literature, in part through annual awards for the year’s outstanding books. Books are directly nominated and chosen by leading book critics. The NBCC thus offers the unique opportunity for professional critics to recognize and reward literary excellence.

Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Awards 2011

The 2011 Discover Awards were presented on March 7, 2012 at the annual awards ceremony in NYC. Each first place winner receives $10,000.

Established in 1990, the Discover Award honors forthcoming new work by debuting and underappreciated authors, and is based solely on literary merit.

New York Times Best Books 2011

Each year, the editors of the New York Times Book Review narrow down the best 100 books of the year and refine that list to the top 10 Best Books of the Year from that selection.

The National Book Awards 2011

Established in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize given to writers by writers and administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization.

New York Times Best Illustrated Books 2011

The New York Times Book Review has announced its list of the 10 Best Illustrated Children’s Books of 2011. The judges this year were Jeanne Lamb, the coordinator of youth collections at The New York Public Library; Lucy Calkins, the Richard Robinson Professor of Children’s Literature at Teachers College of Columbia University; and Sophie Blackall, an author and artist who has illustrated 24 books for children. They chose from among hundreds of children’s picture books published in 2011.