Skip to main content


The Nobel Prize for Literature 2013

Since 1901, the Nobel Prize for Literature has annually honored writers who have produced "the most outstanding work in an ideal direction," in genres ranging from poetry, novels and short stories, to essays, speeches and plays. On October 10, 2013, the Swedish Academy awarded their 106th prize to Canadian author Alice Munro, “a master of the contemporary short story.” Munro is known for her many short-story collections, such as RUNAWAY, THE VIEW FROM CASTLE ROCK and TOO MUCH HAPPINESS, as well as her novel LIVES OF GIRLS AND WOMEN.

Macavity Awards 2013

The Macavity Award is named for the "mystery cat" of T.S. Eliot's OLD POSSUM'S BOOK OF PRACTICAL CATS. Each year, the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in five categories.

Anthony Awards 2013

Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention, is pleased to announce the Anthony Award winners for 2013. The Anthony Awards are presented at each annual Bouchercon with the winners selected by attendees. The award is named for the late Anthony Boucher (William Anthony Parker White), writer and critic from the New York Times, who helped found the Mystery Writers of America. The winners were chosen by the full time members of Bouchercon XLIV, September 19-22, 2013, in Albany, New York.

Children's Choice Book Awards 2013

The Children’s Book Council and Every Child a Reader announced the winners of the sixth annual Children’s Choice Book Awards (CCBAs) at a charity gala benefitting Every Child a Reader in New York City on May 13, 2013. The announcement is an annual highlight of Children’s Book Week (May 13-19, 2013) as the CCBAs is the only national book awards program where the winning titles are selected by kids and teens. Young readers across the country voted in record numbers for their favorite books, author, and illustrator at bookstores, school libraries, and at, casting more than 1,000,000 votes.

Agatha Awards 2012

The winners of the 2012 Agatha Awards were announced at the Malice Domestic Conference on May 4, 2013. Established in 1989, Malice Domestic® is an annual "fun fan" convention in metropolitan Washington, D.C., saluting the traditional mystery --- books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie. For our purposes, the genre is loosely defined as mysteries that contain no explicit sex and no excessive gore or gratuitous violence.

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction 2013

The American Library Association (ALA) has announced six books as finalists for the 2013 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, awarded for the previous year's best fiction and nonfiction books written for adult readers and published in the U.S.  Along with a medal presentation at ALA’s annual conference in Chicago, IL, on June 30th, each winning author will receive $5,000 and the four finalists will each receive $1,500.  

Indies Choice and E.B. White Book Awards 2013

The American Booksellers Association has announced the winners of the 2013 Indies Choice Book Awards and the E.B. White Read-Aloud Awards, as voted by independent booksellers nationwide.

Pulitzer Prize Winners in Letters and Drama 2013

The 97th annual Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism, Letters, Drama and Music, awarded on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board, were announced Monday, April 15, 2013 by Columbia University.

International Thriller Writers Awards 2013

On July 13, 2013, during ThrillerFest VIII, the International Thriller Writers (ITW) announced the winners of the 2013 Thriller Awards at the Grand Hyatt in New York City.

Barry Awards 2013

Named in honor of mystery fiction reviewer and Deadly Pleasures contributor Barry Gardner, the winners of the Barry Awards are selected each year by the magazine’s subscribers and online visitors. This year's winners will be announced on September 19, 2013 at the Opening Ceremonies of Bouchercon 2013 in Albany, New York.