Skip to main content


The Nobel Prize in Literature 2021

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2021 has been awarded to Abdulrazak Gurnah “for his uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents." Gurnah was born in 1948 and grew up on the island of Zanzibar in the Indian Ocean, but he arrived in England as a refugee at the end of the 1960s. He has published 10 novels and a number of short stories. The theme of the refugee’s disruption runs throughout his work.

Agatha Awards 2020

On July 17th, the winners of the 2020 Agatha Awards were announced at More Than Malice, Malice Domestic’s virtual festival. The Agatha Awards honor the "traditional mystery," books typified by the works of Agatha Christie and others. For the purposes of Malice Domestic, the genre is loosely defined as mysteries that contain no explicit sex, excessive gore or gratuitous violence, and are not classified as "hard-boiled."

International Thriller Writers Awards 2021

During a ceremony at “Virtual” ThrillerFest on July 10th, the International Thriller Writers announced the winners of the 2021 Thriller Awards. The awards were presented by literary luminaries Harlan Coben, Lisa Gardner, Tess Gerritsen, Walter Mosley, Karin Slaughter and R.L. Stine.

The Man Booker International Prize 2021

The winner of the 2021 Man Booker International Prize is AT NIGHT ALL BLOOD IS BLACK by David Diop, translated from the French by Anna Mocschovakis. Lucy Hughes-Hallett, who chaired a panel of five judges, said, “This story of warfare and love and madness has a terrifying power. The protagonist is accused of sorcery, and there is something uncanny about the way the narrative works on the reader. We judges agreed that its incantatory prose and dark, brilliant vision had jangled our emotions and blown our minds. That it had cast a spell on us.”

Edgar Allan Poe Awards 2021

The Mystery Writers of America has announced the winners for the 2021 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction and television published or produced in 2020. The Edgar® Awards were presented via a live presentation on Zoom and can be found on You Tube or Facebook.

Los Angeles Times Book Prizes 2020

The 41st annual Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were awarded on April 16th. The best books of 2020 were recognized in 12 categories, along with the winners of the Robert Kirsch and Innovator’s awards.

The National Book Critics Circle Awards 2020

The winners of the 2020 National Book Critics Circle Awards were announced on March 25th during an online ceremony.

The Audie Awards 2021

The Audio Publishers Association (APA) has announced the winners of the 2021 Audie Awards®, the premier awards program in the United States recognizing distinction in audiobooks and spoken-word entertainment.

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction 2021

Congratulations to James McBride and Rebecca Giggs, the 2021 winners of the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. McBride won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction for his novel, DEACON KING KONG, published by Riverhead Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House. Giggs won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction for her book, FATHOMS: The World in the Whale, published by Simon & Schuster.

The National Book Awards 2020

The winners of the 2020 National Book Award in Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature and Young People's Literature were announced on November 18th at the first-ever virtual 71st National Book Awards Ceremony. Two lifetime achievement awards also were presented as part of the evening’s ceremony: Walter Mosley was recognized with the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, presented by Edwidge Danticat, and Carolyn Reidy posthumously received the Foundation’s Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community.