Skip to main content


The Audie Awards 2021

The Audio Publishers Association (APA) has announced the winners of the 2021 Audie Awards®, the premier awards program in the United States recognizing distinction in audiobooks and spoken-word entertainment.

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction 2021

Congratulations to James McBride and Rebecca Giggs, the 2021 winners of the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. McBride won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction for his novel, DEACON KING KONG, published by Riverhead Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House. Giggs won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction for her book, FATHOMS: The World in the Whale, published by Simon & Schuster.

The National Book Awards 2020

The winners of the 2020 National Book Award in Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature and Young People's Literature were announced on November 18th at the first-ever virtual 71st National Book Awards Ceremony. Two lifetime achievement awards also were presented as part of the evening’s ceremony: Walter Mosley was recognized with the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, presented by Edwidge Danticat, and Carolyn Reidy posthumously received the Foundation’s Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community.

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2020

The 2020 Man Booker Prize for Fiction has been awarded to Douglas Stuart for SHUGGIE BAIN, the unforgettable story of young Hugh “Shuggie” Bain, a sweet and lonely boy who spends his 1980s childhood in run-down public housing in Glasgow, Scotland. Margaret Thatcher’s policies have put husbands and sons out of work, and the city’s notorious drug epidemic is waiting in the wings. Click here to read more about Stuart and his blistering debut novel.

The 2020 Kirkus Prize

During an online event hosted by the Austin Central Library, Kirkus Reviews, the nation’s leading prepublication journal of book reviews, announced the winners of the seventh annual Kirkus Prize in the categories of fiction, nonfiction and young readers’ literature.

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2020

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2020 has been awarded to Louise Glück “for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal." Glück made her debut in 1968 with FIRSTBORN and was soon acclaimed as one of the most prominent poets in American contemporary literature.

International Thriller Writers Awards 2020

During a ceremony at “Virtual” ThrillerFest on July 11th, the International Thriller Writers announced the winners of the 2020 Thriller Awards. The awards were presented by literary luminaries, including Sandra Brown, Lisa Gardner, Walter Mosley, R.L. Stine, Scott Turow and Don Winslow.

Edgar Allan Poe Awards 2020

The Mystery Writers of America has announced the winners for the 2020 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction and television published or produced in 2019. The Edgar® Awards were presented via a live presentation on Twitter (@EdgarAwards). The winners’ acceptance speeches can be found on their YouTube channel.

Los Angeles Times Book Prizes 2019

The 40th annual Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were awarded on April 17th. The best books of 2019 were recognized in 12 categories, including the new Ray Bradbury Prize for Science Fiction, Fantasy & Speculative Fiction, along with the winners of the Robert Kirsch and Innovator’s awards.

The National Book Critics Circle Awards 2019

The winners of the 2019 National Book Critics Circle Awards were announced on March 12th at the New School in New York City.