Skip to main content


The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2009

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction, first awarded in 1969, promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year.

RITA Awards 2009

The Romance Writers of America RITA® contest promotes excellence in the romance genre by recognizing outstanding published romance novels and novellas.

The Orange Prize for Fiction Award 2009

Launched in 1996, the prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women's writing from throughout the world.

Children's Choice Book Awards 2009

Established in 2008, the Awards were created to provide young readers with an opportunity to voice their opinions about the books being written for them and to help develop a reading list that will motivate children to read more and cultivate a love of reading.

The Macavity Awards 2009

The Macavity Award is named for the "mystery cat" of T.S. Eliot's OLD POSSUM'S BOOK OF PRACTICAL CATS. Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in four categories.

PEN/Faulkner Awards 2009

Established by National Book Award winner Mary Lee Settle, the PEN/Faulkner Foundation has been recognizing titles that embody literary excellence since 1981.  Previous winners include the likes of Philip Roth, John Updike, Ann Patchett, Sherman Alexie and Joseph O'Neill. For more information about the PEN/Faulkner Foundation and the PEN/Faulkner Award, please visit

Edgar Allan Poe Awards 2009

Each Spring, Mystery Writers of America present the Edgar® Awards, widely acknowledged to be the most prestigious awards in the genre. These awards recognize the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction and television in the past year.

Agatha Awards 2008

Established in 1989, Malice Domestic is an annual convention in metropolitan Washington, DC, saluting "mysteries of manners", books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie. The Agatha Awards honor the "traditional mystery" -- loosely defined as mysteries which contain no explicit sex nor excessive gore or violence; and feature an amateur detective (usually), a confined setting, and characters who know one another.

Los Angeles Times Book Prize 2008

On April 24th, 2009 the winners of the 29th Annual Los Angeles Times Book Prize were announced at a ceremony held during the L. A. Times Festival of Books. The Prize was established in 1980 and includes a $1,000 cash award.

Pulitzer Prize Winners in Letters and Drama 2009

On April 20, the winners of the 2009 Pulitzer Prize were announced at Columbia University in New York. The recipients were selected from over 2,400 entries by 102 jurors, and will be awarded a $10,000 prize and certificate at a luncheon to be held on May 28th at Columbia's Low Library.