Skip to main content


Agatha Awards 2008

Established in 1989, Malice Domestic is an annual convention in metropolitan Washington, DC, saluting "mysteries of manners", books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie. The Agatha Awards honor the "traditional mystery" -- loosely defined as mysteries which contain no explicit sex nor excessive gore or violence; and feature an amateur detective (usually), a confined setting, and characters who know one another.

Los Angeles Times Book Prize 2008

On April 24th, 2009 the winners of the 29th Annual Los Angeles Times Book Prize were announced at a ceremony held during the L. A. Times Festival of Books. The Prize was established in 1980 and includes a $1,000 cash award.

Pulitzer Prize Winners in Letters and Drama 2009

On April 20, the winners of the 2009 Pulitzer Prize were announced at Columbia University in New York. The recipients were selected from over 2,400 entries by 102 jurors, and will be awarded a $10,000 prize and certificate at a luncheon to be held on May 28th at Columbia's Low Library.

Indies Choice Award 2009

The American Booksellers Association (ABA) Indies Choice Book Awards recognize the array of unique and thought-provoking titles championed by independent bookstores nationwide. In addition to the winners, 5 honor books and authors are selected for each of the six categories.

Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Awards 2008

Established in 1990, the Discover Award honors forthcoming new work by debuting and underappreciated authors, and is based solely on literary merit.

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award 2009

The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, established in 1954, honors an author or illustrator whose books are published in the U.S. and have, over a period of years, made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. The award is named in honor of Laura Ingalls Wilder, author of the popular Little House series of books, which later became the basis for a television series. Wilder's first book, LITTLE HOUSE IN THE BIG WOODS (1932), was published when she was 65, and she received the first award in 1954.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award 2009

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. The winner(s), recognized for their literary and artistic achievements that demonstrate creativity and imagination to engage children in reading, receives a bronze medal. Honor Book authors and illustrators receive certificates, which are presented at the ALA Annual Conference. The award was established in 2004 and first presented in 2006. It is named for the world-renowned children’s author, Theodor Geisel, a.k.a. Dr. Seuss.

Schneider Family Awards 2009

The Schneider Family Book Awards is donated by Dr. Katherine Schneider, and honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. Three annual awards are presented for the best Teen, Middle School and Children’s Book.