Skip to main content

Nan Fischer


Nan Fischer

Nan Fischer is a two-time Oregon Book Award finalist for her novels, WHEN ELEPHANTS FLY and THE SPEED OF FALLING OBJECTS. Additional author credits include co-authored sport autobiographies for elite athletes, and a Star Wars trilogy for Lucasfilm. She lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband and their vizsla, Boone.

Nan Fischer

Books by Nan Fischer

by Nan Fischer - Fiction, Romance, Women's Fiction

While planning her wedding, Constance Sparks researches the history of her antique engagement ring and unearths the name of a man who might be connected to it, plus his tragic love story. When she finds a book of letters in her library’s old manuscript section written by the long-dead man, Constance is deeply touched by his words and leaves a note for him confessing her uncertainty and doubts. She’s shocked days later to find a response tucked among the pages. As the notes continue to arrive, Constance finds herself quickly falling in love with a ghost and putting her real-life relationship in jeopardy. Will a bond based on letters impossibly sent from the past derail her future? Or will Constance discover her voice and risk everything for the chance to somehow connect with her true soul mate?

by Nan Fischer - Fiction, Women's Fiction

Psychic-medium Sylvie Young starts every show with her origin story, telling the audience how she discovered her abilities. But she leaves out a lot --- the plane crash that killed her parents, an estranged adoptive family who tends orchards in rainy Oregon, and panic attacks. After a catastrophic reporting error, Thomas Holmes’ next story at the L.A. Times may be his last, but he has a great personal pitch. “Grief vampires” like Sylvie who prey upon the loved ones of the deceased have bankrupted his mother. He’s dead set on using his last-chance article to expose Sylvie as a conniving fraud and resurrect his career. When Sylvie and Thomas collide, a game of cat and mouse ensues, but the secrets they’re keeping from each other are nothing compared to the mysteries and lies they unearth about Sylvie’s past.