Skip to main content

Elena Ferrante


Elena Ferrante

Elena Ferrante is the author of THE DAYS OF ABANDONMENT (Europa, 2005), which was made into a film directed by Roberto Faenza; TROUBLING LOVE (Europa, 2006), adapted by Mario Martone; and THE LOST DAUGHTER (Europa, 2008), soon to be a major motion picture directed by Maggie Gyllenhaal and starring Oscar Award-winner Olivia Colman. She is also the author of INCIDENTAL INVENTIONS (Europa, 2019), illustrated by Andrea Ucini; FRANTUMAGLIA: A Writer’s Journey (Europa, 2016) and THE BEACH AT NIGHT (Europa, 2016), illustrated by Mara Cerri. The four volumes known as the Neapolitan quartet (MY BRILLIANT FRIEND, THE STORY OF A NEW NAME, THOSE WHO LEAVE AND THOSE WHO STAY, and THE STORY OF THE LOST CHILD) were published by Europa Editions in English between 2012 and 2015. "My Brilliant Friend," the HBO series directed by Saverio Costanzo, premiered in 2018. Her most recent novel is THE LYING LIFE OF ADULTS (Europa, 2020).

Elena Ferrante

Books by Elena Ferrante

written by Elena Ferrante, translated by Ann Goldstein - Fiction, Women's Fiction

Giovanna’s pretty face is changing, turning ugly, at least so her father thinks. Giovanna, he says, looks more like her Aunt Vittoria every day. But can it be true? Is she really changing? Is she turning into her Aunt Vittoria, a woman she hardly knows but whom her mother and father clearly despise? Surely there is a mirror somewhere in which she can see herself as she truly is. Giovanna is searching for her reflection in two kindred cities that fear and detest one another: Naples of the heights, which assumes a mask of refinement, and Naples of the depths, a place of excess and vulgarity. She moves from one to the other in search of the truth, but neither city seems to offer answers or escape.

written by Elena Ferrante, translated by Ann Goldstein - Essays, Nonfiction

FRANTUMAGLIA invites readers into Elena Ferrante’s workshop. It offers a glimpse into the drawers of her writing desk, those drawers from which emerged her three early stand-alone novels and the four installments of My Brilliant Friend, known in English as the Neapolitan Quartet. Consisting of over 20 years of letters, essays, reflections and interviews, it is a unique depiction of an author who embodies a consummate passion for writing.

written by Elena Ferrante, translated from the Italian by Ann Goldstein - Fiction

Here is the dazzling saga of two women: the brilliant, bookish Elena and the fiery uncontainable Lila. In the fourth and final Neapolitan novel, both are adults; life’s great discoveries have been made, its vagaries and losses have been suffered. Through it all, the women’s friendship, examined in its every detail over the course of four books, remains the gravitational center of their lives.

by Elena Ferrante - Fiction

Lila and Elena (introduced in MY BRILLIANT FRIEND) are now in their 20s. Marriage appears to have imprisoned Lila, while Elena continues her journey of self-discovery. They share a complex and evolving bond that brings them close at times, and drives them apart at others. Each vacillates between hurtful disregard and profound love for the other. With this complicated and meticulously portrayed friendship at the center of their emotional lives, the two girls mature into women, paying the cruel price that this passage exacts.

by Elena Ferrante - Fiction

Growing up on the tough streets of Naples in the 1950s, friends Elena and Lila learn to rely on each other ahead of anyone or anything else. As they grow, and as their paths repeatedly diverge and converge, Elena and Lila remain best friends whose respective destinies are reflected and refracted in the other. They are likewise the embodiments of a nation undergoing momentous change.