Skip to main content

New in Paperback

Whether it's a hardcover reprinted in paperback, or a new book that just released in paperback, we're rounding up fiction and nonfiction titles worthy of your attention in our New in Paperback feature. Feel free to dog-ear the pages and fold back the covers!

Week of October 25, 2021

Paperback releases for the week of October 25th include Linwood Barclay's FIND YOU FIRST, a riveting thriller in which the possible heirs of a dying tech millionaire are mysteriously being eliminated, one by one; I’LL BE SEEING YOU, a beautifully written memoir by Elizabeth Berg, who tells the poignant love story of caring for her parents in their final years; ROBERT B. PARKER’S SOMEONE TO WATCH OVER ME by Ace Atkins, a new Spenser mystery that finds the legendary Boston PI and his young protégé, Mattie Sullivan, taking on a billionaire money manager running a network of underaged girls for his rich and powerful clients; and Bryan Washington's debut novel, MEMORIAL, a funny and profound story about family in all its strange forms, joyful and hard-won vulnerability, becoming who you're supposed to be, and the limits of love.

Week of October 18, 2021

Paperback releases for the week of October 18th include WIN, a thrilling story from Harlan Coben that shows what happens when a dead man's secrets fall into the hands of a vigilante antihero --- drawing him down a dangerous road; ELEANOR, David Michaelis' breakthrough portrait of Eleanor Roosevelt, America’s longest-serving First Lady, an avatar of democracy whose ever-expanding agency as diplomat, activist and humanitarian made her one of the world’s most widely admired and influential women; GOODNIGHT BEAUTIFUL by Aimee Molloy, an irresistible psychological thriller about a newly married woman whose life is turned upside down when her husband goes missing; and Michael Riedel's SINGULAR SENSATION, the extraordinary story of a transformative decade on Broadway, featuring behind-the-scenes accounts of shows such as "Rent," "Angels in America," "Chicago," "The Lion King" and "The Producers" --- shows that changed the history of the American theater.

Week of October 11, 2021

Paperback releases for the week of October 11th include HOW THE ONE-ARMED SISTER SWEEPS HER HOUSE by Cherie Jones, a powerful story about four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "paradise"; THE ZEALOT AND THE EMANCIPATOR, H. W. Brands' page-turning account of the epic struggle over slavery as embodied by John Brown and Abraham Lincoln --- two men moved to radically different acts to confront our nation’s gravest sin; Vendela Vida's WE RUN THE TIDES, an achingly beautiful story of female friendship, betrayal and a mysterious disappearance set in the changing landscape of San Francisco; and DARK HORSES by Susan Mihalic, a darkly gripping debut novel about a teenage girl’s fierce struggle to reclaim her life from her abusive father, in the vein of MY ABSOLUTE DARLING and ROOM.

Week of October 4, 2021

Paperback releases for the week of October 4th include TROUBLES IN PARADISE, the satisfying conclusion to Elin Hilderbrand's Paradise trilogy, which gives readers of WINTER IN PARADISE and WHAT HAPPENS IN PARADISE one last chance to travel to the bright Caribbean; THE MYSTERY OF MRS. CHRISTIE, Marie Benedict's thrilling reconstruction of one of the most notorious events in literary history --- Agatha Christie's mysterious 11-day disappearance in 1926; INFINITE COUNTRY by Patricia Engel, an urgent and lyrical novel about a Colombian family fractured by deportation, offering an intimate perspective on an experience that so many have endured --- and are enduring right now; and Sarah Langan's GOOD NEIGHBORS, a propulsive literary noir about a sudden tragedy that exposes the depths of deception and damage in a Long Island suburb --- pitting neighbor against neighbor and putting one family in terrible danger.

Week of September 27, 2021

Paperback releases for the week of September 27th include A GAMBLING MAN, a riveting thriller from David Baldacci that marks the return of Aloysius Archer, the straight-talking World War II veteran fresh out of prison; PIECE OF MY HEART by Mary Higgins Clark and Alafair Burke, in which television producer Laurie Moran must solve the kidnapping of her fiancée’s nephew --- just days before her wedding; THE OTHER EMILY, a relentless page-turning work of psychological suspense from Dean Koontz, who takes readers on a twisting journey of lost love, impossible second chances and terrifying promises; TALKING TO STRANGERS, Malcolm Gladwell's powerful examination of our interactions with strangers --- and why they often go wrong; and THIS TIME NEXT YEAR WE'LL BE LAUGHING, Jacqueline Winspear's deeply personal memoir of her family’s resilience in the face of war and privation.

Week of September 20, 2021

Paperback releases for the week of September 20th include THE LYING LIFE OF ADULTS, a powerful novel set in a divided Naples by Elena Ferrante, whose 14-year-old protagonist is searching for her reflection in two kindred cities that fear and detest one another; THE LAST DAYS OF JOHN LENNON by James Patterson, Casey Sherman and Dave Wedge, the thrilling true story of two men who changed history: one whose indelible songs enliven our world to this day, and the other who ended the beautiful music with five pulls of a trigger; NEXT TO LAST STAND, the 16th installment in Craig Johnson's series featuring Sheriff Walt Longmire, who is chasing down the whereabouts of one of the most viewed paintings in American history: Custer's Last Fight; and THE AWKWARD BLACK MAN, a masterful collection of short stories from Walter Mosley, who presents distinct characters as they struggle to move through the world --- heroes who are awkward, nerdy, self-defeating, self-involved and, on the whole, odd.

Week of September 13, 2021

Paperback releases for the week of September 13th include DEADLY CROSS by James Patterson, in which the murder of a glamorous DC socialite becomes Alex Cross’ deadliest case since ALONG CAME A SPIDER; Sophie Hannah's THE KILLINGS AT KINGFISHER HILL, which marks the return of the world’s greatest detective, Hercule Poirot --- the legendary star of Agatha Christie’s MURDER ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS and DEATH ON THE NILE --- as he sets out to solve a delectably twisty mystery; THE LAST GARDEN IN ENGLAND by Julia Kelly, a poignant and unforgettable tale of five women living across three different times whose lives are all connected by one very special garden; and Becky Cooper's WE KEEP THE DEAD CLOSE, a haunting true-crime narrative of an unsolved 1969 murder at a prestigious institution and a lyrical memoir of obsession and love for a girl who dreamed of rising among men.

Week of September 6, 2021

Paperback releases for the week of September 6th include THE BOOK OF TWO WAYS by Jodi Picoult, a riveting novel about the choices that alter the course of our lives; HIS TRUTH IS MARCHING ON, Pulitzer Prize-winner Jon Meacham's intimate and revealing portrait of civil rights icon and longtime U.S. congressman John Lewis, which links his life to the painful quest for justice in America from the 1950s to the present; MAGIC LESSONS, an unforgettable novel that traces a centuries-old curse to its source, as Alice Hoffman unveils the story of Maria Owens, who is accused of witchcraft in Salem and is the matriarch of a line of the amazing Owens women and men featured in PRACTICAL MAGIC and THE RULES OF MAGIC; and SHE COME BY IT NATURAL, in which National Book Award finalist Sarah Smarsh focuses her laser-sharp insights on a working-class icon and one of the most unifying figures in American culture: Dolly Parton.

Week of August 30, 2021

Paperback releases for the week of August 30th include HOME BEFORE DARK by Riley Sager, the story of a house with long-buried secrets and a woman’s quest to uncover them --- even if the truth is far more terrifying than any haunting; Liese O’Halloran Schwarz's WHAT COULD BE SAVED, in which a woman must confront her family’s closely guarded secrets when a mysterious man claims to be her long-missing brother; ELI'S PROMISE, a masterful work of historical fiction from Ronald H. Balson that spans three eras --- Nazi-occupied Poland, the American Zone of post-war Germany, and Chicago at the height of the Vietnam War; and THE MYSTERY OF CHARLES DICKENS by A. N. Wilson, a lively and insightful biographical celebration of the imaginative genius of Charles Dickens, published in commemoration of the 150th anniversary of his death.

Week of August 23, 2021

Paperback releases for the week of August 23rd include ROBERT B. PARKER’S FOOL’S PARADISE by Mike Lupica, which revolves around the murder of an unknown man in Paradise and Police Chief Jesse Stone's investigation into who he was --- and what he was seeking; Emily Gray Tedrowe's THE TALENTED MISS FARWELL, an electrifying page-turner of greed and obsession, survival and self-invention, that is a piercing character study of one unforgettable female con artist; SISTERS, a one-two punch of wild fury and heartache --- a taut, powerful and deeply moving account of sibling love and what happens when two sisters must face each other’s darkest impulses; and DEAR CHILD by Romy Hausmann, a twisty and psychologically clever thriller that the publisher describes as "GONE GIRL meets ROOM," in which a woman held captive finally escapes --- but can she ever really get away?