Skip to main content

New in Paperback

Whether it's a hardcover reprinted in paperback, or a new book that just released in paperback, we're rounding up fiction and nonfiction titles worthy of your attention in our New in Paperback feature. Feel free to dog-ear the pages and fold back the covers!

Week of August 14, 2023

Paperback releases for the week of August 14th include SHATTERED by James Patterson and James O. Born, a Michael Bennett thriller that finds the NYPD detective investigating the murder of Emily Parker, a top FBI abduction specialist who was his partner and best friend; SECLUDED CABIN SLEEPS SIX, a chilling locked-room thriller from Lisa Unger featuring three couples who rent a luxury cabin in the woods for a weekend getaway to die for; Holly Black's stunning adult debut, BOOK OF NIGHT, a modern dark fantasy of betrayals, cabals and a dissolute thief of shadows, in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern; SAVING FREUD by Andrew Nagorski, the dramatic true story of Sigmund Freud’s last-minute escape to London following the German annexation of Austria and the group of friends who made it possible; and the paperback original SPIN A BLACK YARN, a spine-tingling collection of five harrowing novellas of horror and speculative fiction from a master weaver of stories, Josh Malerman.

Week of August 7, 2023

Paperback releases for the week of August 7th include DREAMLAND by Nicholas Sparks, a powerful novel about risking everything for a dream --- and whether or not it’s possible to leave the past behind; BURNER, the 12th installment in Mark Greaney's electrifying Gray Man series, which finds Court Gentry caught between the Russian mafia and the CIA; B. A. Paris' THE PRISONER, a stunning thriller about a woman wed into a family with deadly intentions; THE NIGHT SHIP by Jess Kidd, an epic historical novel that illuminates the lives of two characters --- a girl shipwrecked on an island off Western Australia and, 300 years later, a boy finding a home with his grandfather on the very same island; KOSHERSOUL, a remarkable book by Michael W. Twitty, who explores the cultural crossroads of Jewish and African diaspora cuisine and issues of memory, identity and food; and the paperback original A DAY OF FIRE, a vividly imagined novel from six bestselling authors that follows the lives of those in ancient Pompeii on the fateful day that Mount Vesuvius erupts.

Week of July 31, 2023

Paperback releases for the week of July 31st include NOW IS NOT THE TIME TO PANIC by Kevin Wilson, an exuberant, big-hearted novel about two teenage misfits who spectacularly collide one fateful summer, and the art they make that changes their lives forever; THE HOUSE GUEST, a diabolical cat-and-mouse thriller from Hank Phillippi Ryan that will have readers asking which character is the cat and which is the mouse; WHEN WE WERE BRIGHT AND BEAUTIFUL by Jillian Medoff, an electrifying, twisty and deeply emotional family drama, set on Manhattan’s glittering Upper East Side, that explores the dark side of love, the limits of loyalty and the high cost of truth; Melissa Bond's BLOOD ORANGE NIGHT, a visceral, propulsive memoir detailing a woman’s accidental descent into prescription benzodiazepine dependence and the life-threatening impacts of the drugs’ long-term use; and the paperback original WINE PEOPLE by Michelle Wildgen, an intoxicating escape into the cutthroat world of wine and the complicated terrain of women’s friendship.

Week of July 24, 2023

Paperback releases for the week of July 24th include SUSPECT by Scott Turow, a riveting legal thriller in which a reckless private detective is embroiled in a fraught police scandal; ENCORE IN DEATH, the 56th installment in J. D. Robb's captivating series that marks the return of Lieutenant Eve Dallas, the homicide cop with a passion for justice; Alice Feeney's DAISY DARKER, a delightfully twisty and atmospheric locked-room mystery in which a family reunion leads to murder; REPUTATION, a breathless psychological thriller from Sarah Vaughan about a politician whose less-than-perfect personal life is thrust into the spotlight when a body is discovered in her home; THE EXTRAORDINARY LIFE OF AN ORDINARY MAN, the raw, candid, unvarnished memoir of iconic actor Paul Newman, who covers his traumatic childhood; his career; his drinking; his greatest roles; acting; his intimate life with Joanne Woodward; and his innermost fears, passions and joys; and the paperback original THE HOLLYWOOD JINX by Sariah Wilson, a fun, flirty novel in which the scene is set for an unpredictable romance when Hollywood comes to small-town Ohio.

Week of July 17, 2023

Paperback releases for the week of July 17th include THE HOUSE AT THE END OF THE WORLD by Dean Koontz, a novel about fears known and unknown as an omnipresent terror could bring about the end of the world; DAWNLANDS, the continuation of Philippa Gregory's Fairmile series, in which the fiercely independent Alinor and her family find themselves entangled in palace intrigue and political upheaval in 17th-century England; ELIZABETH FINCH, a magnetic tale from Julian Barnes that centers on the presence of a vivid and particular woman, whose loss becomes the occasion for a man’s deeper examination of love, friendship and biography; D.J. Palmer's MY WIFE IS MISSING, a twisty thriller about a man who will do anything to find his missing wife and two children --- even confront the secrets of his own past; and the paperback original WOMEN OF THE POST by Joshunda Sanders, which brings to life the heroines who proudly served in the all-Black battalion of the Women’s Army Corps in WWII, finding purpose in their mission and lifelong friendship.

Week of July 10, 2023

Paperback releases for the week of July 10th include Maggie O'Farrell's THE MARRIAGE PORTRAIT, an unforgettable portrait of the captivating young duchess Lucrezia de' Medici as she makes her way in a troubled court in Renaissance Italy; GOING ROGUE, which reveals a new side of Stephanie Plum and shows Janet Evanovich at her scorching, riotous best; THE LAST PARTY by Clare Mackintosh, which our reviewer calls "an immensely satisfying psychological thriller. It possesses not a single major twist but rather an endless series of small revelations that will keep readers guessing right up to the last page."; Rebecca Mead's HOME/LAND, a moving reflection on the complicated nature of home and homeland, and the heartache and adventure of leaving an adopted country in order to return to your native land; and the paperback original WINDFALL, Wendy Corsi Staub's newest supense novel that finds three friends' lives terrifyingly unravel when they win a billion-dollar lottery jackpot --- and one goes missing.

Week of July 3, 2023

Paperback releases for the week of July 3rd include FREEDOM, an intricately crafted and thought-provoking book from Sebastian Junger, who examines the tension that lies at the heart of what it means to be human; RAISING LAZARUS, Beth Macy's account of everyday heroes fighting on the front lines of the overdose crisis, which is by turns harrowing and heartening, infuriating and inspiring; THE DISPLACEMENTS by Bruce Holsinger, an adrenaline-fueled story of lives upended and transformed by an unprecedented catastrophe; David Joy's WHEN THESE MOUNTAINS BURN, a fierce and tender tale of a father, an addict, a lawman and the explosive events that come to unite them; and the paperback original HER, TOO, an addictively readable thriller from Bonnie Kistler, in which a high-powered lawyer learns firsthand the terrible truth about her client, who is an accused rapist --- a discovery that propels her on a quest for justice and revenge.

Week of June 26, 2023

Paperback releases for the week of June 26th include THE BOYS FROM BILOXI by John Grisham, a riveting story of two sons of immigrant families who grow up as friends, but ultimately find themselves on opposite sides of the law; A WORLD OF CURIOSITIES, the 18th installment in Louise Penny's beloved series starring Chief Inspector Armand Gamache, which our reviewer calls "elegant and beautiful yet horribly violent"; UPGRADE, an intricately plotted, lightning-fast tale from Blake Crouch that charts one man’s thrilling transformation, even as it asks us to ponder the limits of our humanity --- and our boundless potential; LESS IS LOST, the follow-up to Andrew Sean Greer's Pulitzer Prize-winning novel, LESS, which marks the return of the awkward and lovable Arthur Less in an unforgettable road trip across America; and LIKE A ROLLING STONE, the deeply personal memoir of Rolling Stone founder, co-editor and publisher Jann Wenner, who vividly describes and brings readers inside the music, the politics and the lifestyle of a generation.

Week of June 19, 2023

Paperback releases for the week of June 19th include THE 6:20 MAN, a brilliant thriller from David Baldacci in which a cryptic murder pulls a former soldier turned financial analyst deep into the corruption and menace that prowl beneath the opulent world of finance; COLD, COLD BONES, Kathy Reichs' 21st novel of suspense featuring forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan, who, after receiving a box containing a human eyeball, uncovers a series of gruesome killings eerily reenacting the most shocking of her prior cases; BITTERSWEET by Susan Cain, an Oprah's Book Club pick that explores the power of the bittersweet personality, revealing a misunderstood side of mental health and creativity while offering a roadmap to facing grief in order to live life to the fullest; and Ron Shelton's THE CHURCH OF BASEBALL, the extremely entertaining behind-the-scenes story of the making of the cult classic Bull Durham --- courtesy of the award-winning screenwriter and director of the film --- and an insightful primer on the art and business of moviemaking.

Week of June 12, 2023

Paperback releases for the week of June 12th include THE MAZE, Nelson DeMille's long-awaited new thriller featuring former NYPD homicide detective John Corey, who is called out of retirement to investigate a string of grisly murders much too close to home; TRACY FLICK CAN'T WIN by Tom Perrotta, a sharp, darkly comic and pitch-perfect chronicle of the second act of one of the most memorable characters of our time; Mohsin Hamid's THE LAST WHITE MAN,   a story of love, loss and rediscovery in a time of unsettling change; GHOST LOVER, an electrifying collection of nine fearless and ferocious short stories from Lisa Taddeo, who brings to life the fever of obsession, the blindness of love and the mania of grief; and SWITCHBOARD SOLDIERS by Jennifer Chiaverini, a bold, revelatory novel about one of the great untold stories of World War I --- the women of the U.S. Army Signal Corps, who broke down gender barriers in the military, smashed the workplace glass ceiling, and battled a pandemic as they helped lead the Allies to victory.