Skip to main content

Madeleine L'Engle


Madeleine L'Engle

Madeleine L’Engle published her first novel, THE SMALL RAIN, in 1945. Four years later, she published her first children’s book, AND BOTH WERE YOUNG. Her Newbery Award-winning novel A WRINKLE IN TIME, which was published in 1962, dealt with themes she toyed with in her diaries for years, from personal shortcomings to Einstein’s Theory of Relativity. L’Engle wrote fiction and nonfiction for adults, as well as poetry. She died in 2007.

Madeleine L'Engle

Books by Madeleine L'Engle

by Madeleine L'Engle - Fiction, Short Stories

This powerful collection of short stories traces an emotional arc inspired by Madeleine L'Engle's early life and career, from her lonely childhood in New York to her life as a mother in small-town Connecticut. In a selection of 18 stories discovered by one of her granddaughters, we see how L'Engle's personal experiences and abiding faith informed the creation of her many cherished works. Some of these stories have never been published; others were refashioned into scenes for her novels and memoirs. Almost all were written in the 1940s and '50s, from L'Engle's college years until just before the publication of A WRINKLE IN TIME.

Written by Madeleine L'Engle, Adapted and Illustrated by Hope Larson - Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Graphic Novel, Science Fiction

The world already knows Meg and Charles Wallace Murry, Calvin O'Keefe, and the three Mrs --- Who, Whatsit, and Which --- the memorable and wonderful characters who fight off a dark force and save our universe. But in 50 years of publication, the book has never been illustrated. Now, Hope Larson takes the classic story to a new level with her vividly imagined interpretations of tessering and favorite characters like the Happy Medium and Aunt Beast.