Skip to main content

Harlan Ellison


Harlan Ellison

Harlan Ellison (1934–2018), in a career spanning more than 50 years, wrote or edited 114 books; more than 1,700 stories, essays, articles and newspaper columns; two dozen teleplays; and a dozen motion pictures.

He won the Hugo Award eight and a half times (shared once); the Nebula Award three times; the Bram Stoker Award, presented by the Horror Writers Association, five times (including the Lifetime Achievement Award in 1996); the Edgar Allan Poe Award of the Mystery Writers of America twice; the Georges Melies Fantasy Film Award twice; and two Audie Awards (for the best in audio recordings); and he was awarded the Silver Pen for Journalism by PEN, the international writers’ union. He was presented with the first Living Legend Award by the International Horror Critics at the 1995 World Horror Convention.

Ellison is the only author in Hollywood ever to win the Writers Guild of America award for Outstanding Teleplay (solo work) four times, most recently for “Paladin of the Lost Hour,” his "Twilight Zone" episode that was Danny Kaye’s final role, in 1987. In 2006, Ellison was awarded the prestigious title of Grand Master by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. "Dreams with Sharp Teeth," the documentary chronicling his life and works, was released on DVD in May 2009. He passed away in 2018 at the age of 84.

Harlan Ellison

Books by Harlan Ellison

by Harlan Ellison - Fiction, Hard-boiled Mystery, Mystery

In Rusty Santoro’s neighborhood, the kids carry knives, chains, bricks and broken glass. And when they fight, they fight dirty, leaving the streets littered with the bodies of the injured and the dead. Rusty wants out --- but you can’t just walk away from a New York street gang. And his decision may leave his family to pay a terrible price. WEB OF THE CITY is acclaimed author Harlan Ellison's first novel, now back in print after three decades.