Skip to main content

David Guterson


David Guterson

David Guterson is the author of several novels: the national bestseller SNOW FALLING ON CEDARS; EAST OF THE MOUNTAINS; OUR LADY OF THE FOREST, a New York Times Notable Book and a Los Angeles Times Best Book of the Year; THE OTHER; and ED KING. He is also the author of two story collections, two books of poetry, a memoir and the work of nonfiction FAMILY MATTERS: Why Homeschooling Makes Sense. The recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, he lives in Washington state.

David Guterson

Books by David Guterson

by David Guterson - Fiction, Literary Fiction, Suspense, Thriller

A girl dies one late, rainy night a few feet from the back door of her home. The girl, Abeba, was born in Ethiopia. Her adoptive parents, Delvin and Betsy Harvey --- conservative, white fundamentalist Christians --- are charged with her murder. Royal, a Seattle criminal attorney in the last days of his long career, takes Betsy Harvey’s case. An octogenarian without a driver’s license, he leans on his son --- the novel’s narrator --- as he prepares for trial.

by David Guterson - Fiction, Short Stories

Ranging from youth to old age, the voices that inhabit PROBLEMS WITH PEOPLE offer tender, unexpected and always tightly focused accounts of our quest to understand each other, individually, and as part of a political and historical moment. These stories are shot through with tragedy, poignant reflections upon cultural and personal circumstances, and paradigmatic questions about our sense of reality and belonging.

by David Guterson - Fiction

In Seattle, 1962, Walter Cousins makes the biggest error of his life --- he sleeps with Diane, his children's au pair. Diane gets pregnant and leaves their baby on a doorstep, but not before turning the tables on Walter and setting in motion a tragedy of epic proportions.