Skip to main content

Carla Kelly


Carla Kelly

A well-known veteran of the romance writing field, Carla Kelly is the author of twenty-six novels and three non-fiction works, as well as numerous short stories and articles for various publications. She is the recipient of two RITA Awards from Romance Writers of America for Best Regency of the Year; two Spur Awards from Western Writers of America; a Whitney Award for Best Romance Fiction, 2011; and a Lifetime Achievement Award from Romantic Times.

Carla's interest in historical fiction is a byproduct of her lifelong interest in history. She has a BA in Latin American History from Brigham Young University and an MA in Indian Wars History from University of Louisiana-Monroe. She's held a variety of jobs, including public relations work for major hospitals and hospices, feature writer and columnist for a North Dakota daily newspaper, and ranger in the National Park Service (her favorite job) at Fort Laramie National Historic Site and Fort Union Trading Post National Historic Site. She has worked for the North Dakota Historical Society as a contract researcher. Interest in the Napoleonic Wars at sea led to a recent series of novels about the British Channel Fleet during that conflict. Of late, Carla has written two novels set in southeast Wyoming in 1910 that focus on her Mormon background and her interest in ranching.

Carla Kelly

Books by Carla Kelly

by Carla Kelly - Historical Romance, Western

In the Spanish Royal Colony of New Mexico, Maria Espinosa barely survives the 1679 Cholera epidemic that kills her parents, as well as an Apache raid on a caravan transporting her to her sister in New Mexico. After her sister rejects Maria because she is penniless, a Spanish ranching family takes Maria in, igniting a rivalry between two brothers, one a Spaniard and one half-Indian. Maria struggles to stay alive in a society unaware of impending disaster, as the Indians plan to drive the hated Europeans from the land.