Skip to main content

Benjamin Myers


Benjamin Myers

Benjamin Myers is an award-winning author and journalist, whose work has been translated into many languages. His novels include the bestseller THE OFFING, which was serialized on BBC Radio 4’s "Book at Bedtime," was a London Times Book of the Year, a BBC Radio 2 Book Club pick and an Observer pick for 2019. It was also a bestseller in Germany. His other titles include THE GALLOWS POLE, which the won Walter Scott Prize 2018, the world’s largest prize for historical fiction; THESE DARKENING DAYS; TURNING BLUE; and BEASTINGS, winner of the Portico Prize for Literature and a Northern Writers’ Award.

PIG IRON (2012) won the Gordon Burn Prize, and RICHARD (2010) was a bestseller, chosen by the Sunday Times as one of its books of the year. His writing has appeared in publications including The Guardian, Mojo, New Statesman, New Scientist, The Spectator, The Big Issue, Le Monde, Caught By The River and others.

He was born in Durham, UK, in 1976. He currently lives in the Upper Calder Valley, West Yorkshire, UK.

Benjamin Myers

Books by Benjamin Myers

by Benjamin Myers - Fiction

Under cover of darkness, two very different men --- Calvert, an ex-soldier traumatized by his experience in the Falklands War, and his affable friend, Redbone --- traverse the fields of rural England in secret, forming crop circles in elaborate and mysterious patterns. As the summer wears on, and their designs grow ever more ambitious, they find that their work has become a cult international sensation --- and that an unlikely and beautiful friendship has taken root as the wheat ripens from green to gold. But as harvest-time beckons --- and as media and the authorities begin to take too much interest in their work --- Calvert and Redbone have to race against time to finish the most stunning and original crop circle ever conceived: the Honeycomb Double Helix.