Skip to main content

About the Book

About the Book

Old Babes in the Wood: Stories

A dazzling collection of short stories from the internationally acclaimed, award-winning author of THE HANDMAID'S TALE and THE TESTAMENTS, stories that look deeply into the heart of family relationships, marriage, loss and memory, and what it means to spend a life together.

Margaret Atwood has established herself as one of the most visionary and canonical authors in the world. This collection of 15 extraordinary stories --- some of which have appeared in The New Yorker and The New York Times Magazine --- explore the full warp and weft of experience, speaking to our unique times with Atwood’s characteristic insight, wit and intellect. 

The two intrepid sisters of the title story grapple with loss and memory on a perfect summer evening; “Impatient Griselda” explores alienation and miscommunication with a fresh twist on a folkloric classic; and “My Evil Mother” touches on the fantastical, examining a mother-daughter relationship in which the mother purports to be a witch. At the heart of the collection are seven extraordinary stories that follow a married couple across the decades, the moments big and small that make up a long life of uncommon love --- and what comes after.

Returning to short fiction for the first time since her 2014 collection STONE MATTRESS, Atwood showcases both her creativity and her humanity in these remarkable tales which by turns delight, illuminate and quietly devastate.

Audiobook available; read by Linda Lavin, Dan Stevens, Kimberly Farr, Rebecca Lowman, Bahni Turpin, Dawn Harvey and Allan Corduner

Old Babes in the Wood: Stories
by Margaret Atwood

  • Publication Date: March 7, 2023
  • Genres: Fiction, Short Stories
  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Doubleday
  • ISBN-10: 0385549075
  • ISBN-13: 9780385549073