Skip to main content

About the Book

About the Book

Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars.

The bonds of family are tested in the wake of a profound tragedy, providing a look at the darker side of our society by one of our most enduringly popular and important writers.

NIGHT. SLEEP DEATH. THE STARS. is a gripping examination of contemporary America through the prism of a family tragedy: when a powerful parent dies, each of his adult children reacts in startling and unexpected ways, and his grieving widow in the most surprising way of all.

Stark and penetrating, Joyce Carol Oates’ latest novel is a vivid exploration of race, psychological trauma, class warfare, grief and eventual healing, as well as an intimate family novel in the tradition of the author’s bestselling WE WERE THE MULVANEYS.

Audiobook available, read by Cheryl Smith

Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars.
by Joyce Carol Oates

  • Publication Date: June 8, 2021
  • Genres: Fiction
  • Paperback: 800 pages
  • Publisher: Ecco
  • ISBN-10: 006279759X
  • ISBN-13: 9780062797599