Skip to main content

Evil Eye: Four Novellas of Love Gone Wrong

About the Book

Evil Eye: Four Novellas of Love Gone Wrong

Joyce Carol Oates is one of the most prominent writers of her generation, and she is fearless when exploring the most disturbing corners of human nature. In EVIL EYE, Oates offers four chilling tales of love gone horribly wrong, showing the lengths people will go to find love, keep it, and sometimes end it.

In "Evil Eye," we meet Mariana, the young 4th wife of a prominent intellectual. When her husband's brazen first wife visits one night, Mariana learns a terrible secret that could be a harbinger of doom for her marriage and very soul. In "So Near, Anytime, Always," shy teenager Lizbeth meets Desmond, a charming boy who offers this introverted girl the first sparks of young romance. Yet just as their relationship begins to blossom, Lizbeth realizes that beneath Desmond's perfect façade lies a dark soul that could wreak havoc on Lizbeth and her loved ones. In "The Execution," spoiled college student Bart Hansen has planned the perfect, brutal crime to get back at his parents for their years of condescension. Yet what he didn't plan for is a mother whose love is more resilent than he could have ever imagined, who threatens to derail his carefully laid-out plans. And in "The Flat-Bed," childhood trauma has prevented Cecelia from enjoying the pleasures of physical intimacy with a man, but when she finally meets the love of her life, Cecelia realizes that finding intimacy will mean coming face-to-face with the despicable man from her past who robbed her of her innocence years ago.

Containing four tales drenched with suspense and dread, with the scalpel-sharp prose that has made Joyce Carol Oates a living legend, EVIL EYE is a collection that proves love can work in mysterious --- and sometimes murderous --- ways.

Evil Eye: Four Novellas of Love Gone Wrong
by Joyce Carol Oates

  • Publication Date: October 14, 2014
  • Genres: Fiction
  • Paperback: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Mysterious Press
  • ISBN-10: 0802122884
  • ISBN-13: 9780802122889