Skip to main content

Brain Storm: A Life in Pieces

About the Book

Brain Storm: A Life in Pieces

The sad seven-year-old girl. The aggressive 14-year-old boy. The terrified three-year-old child. The cult leader.

She lived with these, and over 30 other parts of her mind, no less real than you and I, throughout endless cycles of deepest depression, paralyzing panic, thoughts of suicide, and a revolving door of psychotherapists.

A harbinger of the coming storm, darkness followed her everywhere, from infancy to a career as a renowned, openly gay OB/GYN in New York City. A loving wife and three remarkable kids completed the façade she allowed the world to see while inside her mind was a raging tempest. A fierce will to survive sustained her until, at long last, a gifted therapist gave a name to her unrelenting psychic pain: dissociative identity disorder (DID). And so the work began.

In BRAIN STORM, Dr. Shelley Kolton tells the story of a childhood marked by unimaginable abuse and the distinct parts her brain created to hold those memories and protect her. She balanced the demands of medicine, marriage and family as new parts --- each one requiring her attention and care --- emerged while grueling therapy sessions consumed her days and nights. After 12 torturous years, she finally accepted that the alters colliding inside her brain had, in truth, saved her.

Kolton, often using emails and text messages written by her alters, mixed with her own journal entries, paints an honest, intimate and at times humorous portrait of a woman living with DID, managing the inhabitants of her own creation. With memories so raw and real, she puts to rest any doubts as to the existence of multiple personalities. BRAIN STORM is the heartbreaking account of a mind, fragmented and broken, ultimately made whole by one woman’s incomparable strength and courage.

Brain Storm: A Life in Pieces
by Shelley Kolton, MD

  • Publication Date: June 1, 2021
  • Genres: Memoir, Nonfiction
  • Paperback: 318 pages
  • Publisher: FLR Press
  • ISBN-10: 0578736470
  • ISBN-13: 9780578736471