Skip to main content

About the Book

About the Book

Blasphemy: New and Selected Stories

Sherman Alexie’s stature as a writer of stories, poems, and novels has soared over the course of his twenty-book, twenty-year career. His wide-ranging, acclaimed stories from the last two decades, from THE LONE RANGER AND TONTO FISTFIGHT IN HEAVEN to his most recent PEN/Faulkner award–winning WAR DANCES, have established him as a star in modern literature.

A bold and irreverent observer of life among Native Americans in the Pacific Northwest, the daring, versatile, funny, and outrageous Alexie showcases all his talents in his newest collection, BLASPHEMY, where he unites fifteen beloved classics with 15 new stories in one sweeping anthology for devoted fans and first-time readers.

Included here are some of his most esteemed tales, including “What You Pawn I Will Redeem," “This is What it Means to Say Phoenix, Arizona,” “The Toughest Indian in the World,” and “War Dances.” Alexie’s new stories are fresh and quintessential --- about donkey basketball leagues, lethal wind turbines, the reservation, marriage, and all species of contemporary American warriors.

An indispensable collection of new and classic stories, BLASPHEMY reminds us, on every thrilling page, why Sherman Alexie is one of our greatest contemporary writers and a true master of the short story.

Blasphemy: New and Selected Stories
by Sherman Alexie

  • Publication Date: October 8, 2013
  • Genres: Fiction, Short Stories
  • Paperback: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Grove Press
  • ISBN-10: 0802121756
  • ISBN-13: 9780802121752