Skip to main content

A Sliver of Darkness: Stories

About the Book

A Sliver of Darkness: Stories

The debut short story collection from the acclaimed author of THE CHALK MAN, hailed as “Britain’s female Stephen King” (Daily Mail), featuring 11 bone-chilling and mind-bending tales.

Time slips. Doomsday scenarios. Killer butterflies. C.J. Tudor’s novels are widely acclaimed for their dark, twisty suspense plots, but with A SLIVER OF DARKNESS, she pulls us even further into her dizzying imagination.

In “The Lion at the Gate,” a strange piece of graffiti leads to a terrifying encounter for four school friends. In “Final Course,” the world has descended into darkness, but a group of old friends make time for one last dinner party. In “Runaway Blues,” thwarted love, revenge and something very nasty stowed in a hat box converge. In “Gloria,” a strange girl at a service station endears herself to a coldhearted killer, but can a leopard really change its spots? And in “I’m Not Ted,” a case of mistaken identity has unforeseen fatal consequences.

Riveting, macabre and explosively original, A SLIVER OF DARKNESS is C.J. Tudor at her most wicked and uninhibited.

A Sliver of Darkness: Stories
by C. J. Tudor