Skip to main content

June 2018

Books on Screen

June 2018

June's Books on Screen roundup includes the feature films Eating Animals, The Yellow Birds and Leave No Trace; the series premieres of "C.B. Strike" on Cinemax and AMC's "Dietland," along with the season one finale of "Sweetbitter" on Starz and the conclusion of Showtime's limited series "Patrick Melrose"; and the DVD releases of A Wrinkle in Time, Every Day and Death Wish.


In Theaters


Release Date: June 1st (wide)
Based on: RED SKY IN MOURNING: A True Story of Love, Loss, and Survival at Sea, by Tami Oldham Ashcraft with Susea McGearhart

Eating Animals
Release Date: June 15th (limited)
Based on: EATING ANIMALS by Jonathan Safran Foer

Loving Pablo
Release Date: June 15th (limited)
Based on: LOVING PABLO, HATING ESCOBAR by Virginia Vallejo

The Yellow Birds
Release Date: June 15th (limited)
Based on: THE YELLOW BIRDS by Kevin Powers

The Catcher Was a Spy
Release Date: June 22nd (limited)
Based on: THE CATCHER WAS A SPY: The Mysterious Life of Moe Berg, by Nicholas Dawidoff

Leave No Trace
Release Date: June 29th (limited)
Based on: MY ABANDONMENT by Peter Rock





Series/Season Premieres

"C.B. Strike"
Air Dates: Fridays at 10pm ET/PT on Cinemax; Series Premiere on June 1st
Based on: THE CUCKOO'S CALLING by  J. K. Rowling, writing as Robert Galbraith

Air Dates: Mondays at 9pm ET/PT on AMC; Series Premiere on June 4th
Based on: DIETLAND by Sarai Walker

Air Dates: Wednesdays at 10pm ET/PT on Audience Network (DirecTV); Series Premiere on June 6th
Based on: SIX DAYS OF THE CONDOR by James Grady

"Marvel's Cloak & Dagger"
Air Dates: Thursdays at 8pm ET/PT on Freeform; Series Premiere on June 7th
Based on: The Marvel Comics characters of the same name

"Strange Angel"
Streaming Dates: Thursdays on CBS All Access; Series Premiere on June 14th
Based on: STRANGE ANGEL: The Otherworldly Life of Rocket Scientist John Whiteside Parsons, by George Pendle

Brain on Fire
Release Date: June 22nd on Netflix
Based on: BRAIN ON FIRE: My Month of Madness by Susannah Cahalan

"Marvel's Luke Cage" (Season Two)
Release Date: June 22nd on Netflix
Based on: The Marvel Comics characters of the same name

"A Very English Scandal" (3-part series)
Release Date: June 29th on Amazon Prime
Based on: A VERY ENGLISH SCANDAL: Sex, Lies and a Murder Plot at the Heart of Establishment, by John Preston


Series/Season Finales

"Patrick Melrose" (5-part series)
Air Dates: Saturdays at 9pm ET/PT on Showtime; Series Finale on June 9th
Based on: PATRICK MELROSE by Edward St Aubyn

Air Dates: Sundays at 8pm ET/PT on Starz; Season One Finale on June 10th
Based on: SWEETBITTER by Stephanie Danler




Death Wish
DVD Release Date: June 5th
Based on: DEATH WISH by Brian Garfield

Every Day
DVD Release Date: June 5th
Based on: EVERY DAY by David Levithan

A Wrinkle in Time
DVD Release Date: June 5th
Based on: A WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L'Engle

Love, Simon
DVD Release Date: June 12th
Based on: SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA by Becky Albertalli

The Death of Stalin
DVD Release Date: June 19th
Based on: THE DEATH OF STALIN written by Fabien Nury, illustrated by Thierry Robin