Skip to main content

The National Book Awards 2010


The National Book Awards 2010

Established in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize given to writers by writers and administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization.

More information about The National Book Awards can be found at

2010 Winners


LORD OF MISRULE by Jamie Gordon (McPherson & Co.)

JUST KIDS by Patti Smith (Ecco/HarperCollins)

LIGHTHEAD by Terrance Hayes (Penguin Books)

Young People’s Literature
MOCKINGBIRD by Kathryn Erskine (Philomel Books/Penguin)

2010 Finalists


PARROT AND OLIVIER IN AMERICA by Peter Carey (Alfred A. Knopf)
LORD OF MISRULE by Jaimy Gordon (McPherson & Company)
GREAT HOUSE by Nicole Krauss (W.W. Norton & Company)
SO MUCH FOR THAT by Lionel Shriver (Harper/HarperCollins)
I HOTEL by Karen Tei Yamashita (Coffee House Press)

NOTHING TO ENVY: Ordinary Lives in North Korea, by Barbara Demick (Spiegel & Grau/Random House)
CULTURES OF WAR: Pearl Harbor, Hiroshima, 9-11, Iraq, by John W. Dower (W.W. Norton & Company)
JUST KIDS by Patti Smith (Ecco/HarperCollins)
SECRET HISTORIAN: The Life and Times of Samuel Steward, by Justin Spring (Farrar, Straus, & Giroux)
EVERY MAN IN THIS VILLAGE IS A LIAR: An Education in War, by Megan K. Stack (Doubleday)

THE ETERNAL CITY by Kathleen Graber (Princeton University Press)
LIGHTHEAD by Terrance Hayes (Viking Penguin)
BY THE NUMBERS by James Richardson (Copper Canyon Press)
ONE WITH OTHERS by C.D. Wright (Copper Canyon Press)
IGNATZ by Monica Youn (Four Way Books)

Young People’s Literature:
SHIP BREAKER by Paolo Bacigalupi (Little, Brown & Company)
MOCKINGBIRD by Kathryn Erskine (Philomel Books/Penguin)
DARK WATER by Laura McNeal (Alfred A. Knopf)
LOCKDOWN by Walter Dean Myers (Amistad/HarperCollins)
ONE CRAZY SUMMER by Rita Williams-Garcia (Amistad/HarperCollins)