Skip to main content

Agatha Awards 2009


Agatha Awards 2009

Established in 1989, Malice Domestic is an annual convention in metropolitan Washington, DC, saluting "mysteries of manners", books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie. The Agatha Awards honor the "traditional mystery" -- loosely defined as mysteries which contain no explicit sex nor excessive gore or violence; and feature an amateur detective (usually), a confined setting, and characters who know one another.

For more information about the Agatha Awards, visit


Best Novel:
A Brutal Telling by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)

Best First Novel:
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley (Delacorte Press)

Best Non-fiction:
Dame Agatha’s Shorts by Elena Santangelo (Bella Rosa Books)

Best Short Story:
“On the House” by Hank Phillippi Ryan, Quarry (Level Best Books)

Best Children's/Young Adult:
The Hanging Hill by Chris Grabenstein (Random House)