Skip to main content

The Blackstone Chronicles


The Blackstone Chronicles

Following the precedent set by Stephen King with his serial novel
THE GREEN MILE, horror author John Saul has composed his own entry
in the field, which started in January,1997 and continued until
June, 1997. But this novel is a much more terrifying, page-turning
story than THE GREEN MILE.
Part I -- An Eye for an Eye: The
Part II -- Twist of Fate: The Locket
Part III -- Ashes to Ashes: The Dragon's
Part IV -- In the Shadow of Evil: The
Part V -- Day of Reckoning: The
Part VI -- Asylum

Part I

An Eye For An Eye: The Doll

The story opens in the quiet town of Blackstone, New Hampshire. We
are introduced to Oliver Metcalf, the character that ties all the
others together, and who still lives on the property of the old
Blackstone Asylum, perched on the town's highest hill. We also meet
the dark figure who slips into the vacant building at night to
select and deliver "presents."

The Asylum, built in the 1890's, has been vacant for decades, and a
new re-development project is planned to tear down all but the
facade and build a shopping mall. Following the ceremonial strike
of the wrecking ball, things begin to go wrong.

The financing for the project is held up, and Bill McGuire, the
contractor handling the project, must scramble for income with a
new baby about to be born. The same day, a strange package arrives
on his doorstep, with only the name McGuire and no return address.
Inside the box is a beautiful, antique doll that immediately
attracts the attention of Bill's wife Elizabeth and their young
daughter Megan. The doll drives a wedge between mother and daughter
that ultimately ends in tragedy. What evil power does the doll
have? And what else is in store for the citizens of

Reviewed by on January 21, 2011

The Blackstone Chronicles
by John Saul

  • Publication Date: February 10, 1998
  • Genres: Fiction, Thriller
  • Paperback: 544 pages
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • ISBN-10: 044900192X
  • ISBN-13: 9780449001929