Skip to main content

The Macavity Awards 2011


The Macavity Awards 2011

The Macavity Award is named for the "mystery cat" of T.S. Eliot's OLD POSSUM'S BOOK OF PRACTICAL CATS. Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in four categories.

For more information go to

2011 Winners


Best Mystery Novel
BURY YOUR DEAD by Louise Penny (Minotaur)

Best First Mystery Novel
ROGUE ISLAND by Bruce DeSilva (Forge-Tom Doherty Associates)

Best Mystery Nonfiction
AGATHA CHRISTIE'S SECRET NOTEBOOKS: Fifty Years of Mysteries in the Making by John Curran (HarperCollins)

Best Mystery Short Story
“Swing Shift” by Dana Cameron, from CRIMES BY MOONLIGHT: Mysteries from the Dark Side (Berkley)

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award
CITY OF DRAGONS by Kelli Stanley (Minotaur)