Skip to main content

Sebastian Barry


Sebastian Barry

Sebastian Barry was born in Dublin in 1955. His plays include "Boss Grady’s Boys" (1988), "The Steward of Christendom" (1995), "Our Lady of Sligo" (1998), "The Pride of Parnell Street" (2007) and "Dallas Sweetman" (2008). His novels include THE WHEREABOUTS OF ENEAS McNULTY (1998), ANNIE DUNNE (2002), A LONG LONG WAY (2005), which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, THE SECRET SCRIPTURE (2008), which was also shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, ON CANAAN'S SIDE (2011) and THE TEMPORARY GENTLEMAN (2014). His poetry includes "The Water-Colourist" (1982), "Fanny Hawke Goes to the Mainland Forever" (1989) and "The Pinkening Boy" (2005). His awards include the Irish-America Fund Literary Award, The Christopher Ewart-Biggs Prize, the London Critics Circle Award, The Kerry Group Irish Fiction Prize, and Costa Awards for Best Novel and Book of the Year. He lives in Wicklow with his family.

Sebastian Barry

Books by Sebastian Barry

by Sebastian Barry - Fiction, Historical Fiction

Thomas McNulty, aged barely 17 and having fled the Great Famine in Ireland, signs up for the U.S. Army in the 1850s. With his brother in arms, John Cole, Thomas goes on to fight in the Indian Wars --- against the Sioux and the Yurok --- and, ultimately, the Civil War. Orphans of terrible hardships themselves, the men find these days to be vivid and alive, despite the horrors they see and are complicit in.

by Sebastian Barry - Fiction

Told in the first person, as a narrative of Lilly Bere's life over 17 days, ON CANAAN'S SIDE opens as she mourns the loss of her grandson. Lilly revisits her past, going back to the moment she was forced to flee Ireland, at the end of the First World War, and continues her tale in America, a world filled with both hope and danger.