Skip to main content

Miriam Toews


Miriam Toews

Miriam Toews is the author of six bestselling novels: ALL MY PUNY SORROWS, SUMMER OF MY AMAZING LUCK, A BOY OF GOOD BREDDING, A COMPLICATED KINDNESS, THE FLYING TROUTMANS and IRMA VOTH, and one work of nonfiction, SWING LOW: A Life. She is winner of the Governor General’s Award for Fiction, the Libris Award for Fiction Book of the Year, the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, and the Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award. She lives in Toronto.

Miriam Toews

Books by Miriam Toews

by Miriam Toews - Fiction, Women's Fiction

One evening, eight Mennonite women climb into a hay loft to conduct a secret meeting. For the past two years, each of them has been repeatedly violated in the night by demons coming to punish them for their sins. Now that the women have learned they were in fact drugged and attacked by a group of men from their own community, they are determined to protect themselves and their daughters from future harm. While the men of the colony are off in the city, these women --- all illiterate, without any knowledge of the world outside their community and unable even to speak the language of the country in which they live --- have very little time to make a choice: Should they stay in the only world they've ever known, or should they dare to escape?

by Miriam Toews - Fiction

IRMA VOTH follows a young Mennonite woman, vulnerable yet wise beyond her years, who carries a terrible family secret with her on a remarkable journey to survival and redemption.