Skip to main content

Gail Godwin


Gail Godwin

Gail Godwin is a three-time National Book Award finalist and the bestselling author of 12 critically acclaimed novels, including VIOLET CLAY, FATHER MELANCHOLY'S DAUGHTER, EVENSONG, THE GOOD HUSBAND and EVENINGS AT FIVE. She is also the author of THE MAKING OF A WRITER, her journal in two volumes (ed. Rob Neufeld). She has received a Guggenheim Fellowship, National Endowment for the Arts grants for both fiction and libretto writing, and the Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Gail Godwin lives in Woodstock, New York.

Gail Godwin

Books by Gail Godwin

by Gail Godwin - Fiction

After his mother's death, 11-year-old Marcus moves in with his great aunt, a reclusive painter with a haunted past. Aunt Charlotte points out a ruined cottage, telling Marcus she had visited it regularly after she'd moved there 30 years ago because it matched the ruin of her own life. The islanders call it "Grief Cottage," because a boy and his parents disappeared from it during a hurricane 50 years before. While Aunt Charlotte is in her studio painting, Marcus visits the cottage, building up his courage by coming ever closer, even after the ghost of the boy who died seems to reveal himself. He courts the ghost boy, never certain whether the ghost is friendly or follows some sinister agenda.

by Gail Godwin - Memoir, Nonfiction

PUBLISHING is a personal story of a writer's hunger to be published, the pursuit of that goal, and then the long haul --- for Gail Godwin, 45 years of being a published writer and all that goes with it. The book reflects on the influence of her mother's writing hopes and accomplishments, and recalls her experiences with teachers Kurt Vonnegut and Robert Coover; John Hawkins, her literary agent for five decades; John Irving and other luminaries; and her editors and publishers.

by Gail Godwin - Fiction, Historical Fiction

Ten-year-old Helen and her summer guardian, Flora, are isolated together in Helen's decaying family house while her father is doing secret war work in Oak Ridge during the final months of World War II. Helen is desperate to keep her house intact with all its ghosts and stories. Flora, her late mother's 22-year old first cousin, is ardently determined to do her best for Helen. Their relationship and its fallout will haunt Helen for the rest of her life.