Skip to main content


Edgar Allan Poe Awards 2010

Each Spring, Mystery Writers of America present the Edgar® Awards, widely acknowledged to be the most prestigious awards in the genre. These awards recognize the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction and television in the past year.

Agatha Awards 2009

Established in 1989, Malice Domestic is an annual convention in metropolitan Washington, DC, saluting "mysteries of manners", books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie. The Agatha Awards honor the "traditional mystery" -- loosely defined as mysteries which contain no explicit sex nor excessive gore or violence; and feature an amateur detective (usually), a confined setting, and characters who know one another.

Los Angeles Times Book Prize 2009

On April 23rd 2010, The Los Angeles Times announced the winners of its 30th Annual Book Prizes at a ceremony that kicked off the publication’s 2010 Festival of Books --- the country’s largest public literary festival. Established in 1980, the Prizes honor extraordinary authors and their works in 12 categories, including the first-ever Graphic Novel genre.

Pulitzer Prize Winners in Letters and Drama 2010

On April 12th, the winners of the 2010 Pulitzer Prize were announced at Columbia University in New York, NY. 21 recipients were selected from over 2,500 entries by a distinguished panel of 102 jurors, and will be honored at a luncheon to be held on luncheon on May 24th.

The National Book Critics Circle Awards 2009

Founded in 1974, the NBCC is a nonprofit organization of book reviewers and critics that honors outstanding writing and fosters a national conversation about reading, criticism, and literature, in part through annual awards for the year’s outstanding books. Books are directly nominated and chosen by leading book critics. The NBCC thus offers the unique opportunity for professional critics to recognize and reward literary excellence.

Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Awards 2009

Established in 1990, the Discover Award honors forthcoming new work by debuting and underappreciated authors, and is based solely on literary merit.

Books for a Better Life Awards 2009

Since its inception in 1996, Books for a Better Life has recognized more than 600 self-improvement authors and has now raised more than $1.8 million for the New York City - Southern New York Chapter’s comprehensive support services and educational programs for people living with MS, their friends and families. The Awards recognize self-improvement authors whose messages are aligned with the chapter’s mission of inspiring people to live their best lives.

Schneider Family Awards 2010

The Schneider Family Book Awards is donated by Dr. Katherine Schneider, and honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. Three annual awards are presented for the best Teen, Middle School and Children’s Book.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award 2010

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. The winner(s), recognized for their literary and artistic achievements that demonstrate creativity and imagination to engage children in reading, receives a bronze medal. Honor Book authors and illustrators receive certificates, which are presented at the ALA Annual Conference. The award was established in 2004 and first presented in 2006. It is named for the world-renowned children’s author, Theodor Geisel, a.k.a. Dr. Seuss.

New York Times Best Books 2009

Each year, the editors of the New York Times Book Review narrow down the best 100 books of the year and refine that list to the top 10 Best Books of the Year from that selection.