Skip to main content

Sloane Crosley

Biography

Sloane Crosley

Sloane Crosley is the author of the New York Times bestsellers I WAS TOLD THERE’D BE CAKE (a Thurber Prize finalist) and HOW DID YOU GET THIS NUMBER. A frequent contributor to The New York Times, she lives in Manhattan.

Books by Sloane Crosley

by Sloane Crosley - Essays, Humor, Nonfiction

Fans of I WAS TOLD THERE’D BE CAKE and HOW DID YOU GET THIS NUMBER know Sloane Crosley's life as a series of relatable but madcap misadventures. In LOOK ALIVE OUT THERE, whether it's scaling active volcanoes, crashing shivas, playing herself on “Gossip Girl,” befriending swingers, or squinting down the barrel of the fertility gun, Crosley continues to rise to the occasion with unmatchable nerve and electric one-liners. And as her subjects become more serious, her essays deliver not just laughs but lasting emotional heft and insight.

by Sloane Crosley - Fiction, Humor

Kezia, Nathaniel and Victor are reunited at the extravagant wedding of a college friend. During the reception, an inebriated Victor passes out in the mother of the groom's bedroom. He's woken with a jovial slap to the face, as she dangles a story about a missing necklace before him, one that she has never even told her son. Her tale sets in motion a madcap adventure that leads Victor, Kezia and Nathaniel from Miami to New York and L.A., and ultimately across France, to the estate of Guy de Maupassant, author of the classic short story "The Necklace."