Skip to main content

Kim Michele Richardson


Kim Michele Richardson

Kim Michele Richardson was born in Kentucky and resides part-time in Western North Carolina. Her works include LIAR'S BENCH, GODPRETTY IN THE TOBACCO FIELD and THE SISTERS OF GLASS FERRY. THE BOOK WOMAN OF TROUBLESOME CREEK is her fourth novel.

Photo Credit: Leigh Photography

Books by Kim Michele Richardson

by Kim Michele Richardson - Fiction, Historical Fiction, Women's Fiction

The hardscrabble folks of Troublesome Creek have to scrap for everything --- everything except books, that is. Thanks to Roosevelt’s Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Troublesome has its very own traveling librarian, Cussy Mary Carter. Cussy's not only a book woman, however; she’s also the last of her kind, her skin a shade of blue unlike most anyone else. Not everyone is keen on Cussy’s family or the Library Project, and a Blue is often blamed for any whiff of trouble. If Cussy wants to bring the joy of books to the hill folks, she’s going to have to confront prejudice as old as the Appalachias and suspicion as deep as the holler.

by Kim Michele Richardson - Coming of Age, Family Life, Fiction

RubyLyn Bishop is luckier than some. Her God-fearing uncle, Gunnar, has a short fuse and high expectations, but he’s given her a good home ever since she was orphaned at the age of five. Yet now, a month shy of her sixteenth birthday, RubyLyn itches for more. Atmospheric, poignant and searingly honest, GODPRETTY IN THE TOBACCO FIELD follows RubyLyn through the course of one blazing summer, as heartbreaking revelations and life-changing decisions propel her toward a future her fortunetellers never predicted.